Opening of the iCare sensory garden in Buncrana – Highland Radio


Donegal County Council says the iCARE Sensory Garden at Looking Glass Brae in Ballymacarry is a very important development and will help children and adults with learning difficulties.

The EU-funded garden also benefits from the support of the Stormont Executive Office, reflecting its cross-border dimension.

Donegal County Council says what iCare has done is inspiring. He says the project reimagined undeveloped land and created a shared space to support peace and reconciliation through sensory play.

The garden, which was officially by Cathaoirleach Cllr Jack Murray, has received funding as part of Donegal County Council’s £5.5million Local Authority Action Plan, which was funded as part of the PEACE 4 program of the European Union.

The Sensory Garden provides opportunities for interactive play for children and adults of varying ages and abilities.

The garden includes different areas to provide a variety of multi-sensory experiences, such as a sheltered sensory activity area, a sensory path and a garden to grow flowers, fruits and vegetables.

The facility also includes a picture exchange communication system board, which provides communication support, with particular benefit for children or adults who are pre-verbal or non-verbal and/or have communication difficulties.

The garden is intended for use by the people of Donegal and neighboring counties, with matching funding provided by the Northern Ireland Executive Office and the Department of Rural and Community Development, Dublin.

Photo – Niamh Clerkin iCARE Manager, Liam Gill iAdult Manager, Cllr Jack Murray Cathaoirleach DCC, Pádraig MacLochlainn TD, Cllr Paul Canning Chairman PEACE IV Partnership, Liam Galbraith Vice Chairman iCARE Board, Cllr Nicholas Crossan Leas-Chathaoirleach Inishowen MD, Doreen Friel Secretary iCARE Board, Anna Kelly Director of iCARE, Orla Tracey, Angela Tourish, Margaret Farren Director of iCARE, George McLaughlin Director of iCARE, Cllr Rena Donaghey.

Top photo – LR Anna Kelly, Niamh Clerkin, Doreen Friel, Jude Doyle, Olivia Farren, Conor Deeney, Ryan Gill, Chloe Morrison, Cllr Jack Murray Cathaoirleach DCC, Angela Tourish, Cllr Paul Canning, Cllr Nicholas Crossan, Leas-Chathaoirleach Inishowen MD, Paddy Doherty, SEO DCC, Cllr. Rena Donaghey


Comments are closed.