Radio host slams ‘soft’ Gen Z festival-goers who complained about sharing water at Splendor in the Grass

0

Radio host Tim Blackwell has bullied Australian festival-goers for complaining about unpleasant conditions at Splendor in the Grass.

As many as 50,000 revelers attended the Byron Bay festival over the weekend, despite torrential rain turning the lush park into a pool of mud.

While the media is awash with reports of Gen Z customers coping under “wartime conditions,” Blackwell has little sympathy for them.

Radio host Tim Blackwell (pictured in August 2018) bullied Australian festival-goers for complaining about unpleasant conditions at Splendor in the Grass

Blackwell, 40, posted a screenshot on Instagram of a news article reporting that ‘soaked revelers’ were forced to ‘share small cans of water’ during a six-hour wait to return to bus home.

The Nova FM presenter sarcastically captioned the post: ‘Wow. Breeding them hard these days. Share the water?! Definitely not!’

“The @spleandourinthegrass team did an amazing job under the circumstances,” added Blackwell, who co-hosts the Kate, Tim and Joel driving show.

As many as 50,000 revelers attended the Byron Bay festival over the weekend, despite rain turning the park into a pool of mud.  (Pictured: Splendor customers posing in the mud)

As many as 50,000 revelers attended the Byron Bay festival over the weekend, despite rain turning the park into a pool of mud. (Pictured: Splendor customers posing in the mud)

Blackwell, 40, posted a screenshot on Instagram of a news article reporting that 'soaked revelers' were forced to 'share small cans of water' during a six-hour wait to return to bus home.  He wrote: 'Wow.  They breed them hard these days.  Share the water?!  Certainly not!'

Blackwell, 40, posted a screenshot on Instagram of a news article reporting that ‘soaked revelers’ were forced to ‘share small cans of water’ during a six-hour wait to return to bus home. He wrote: ‘Wow. They breed them hard these days. Share the water?! Certainly not!’

“The team at Splendor in the Grass did an amazing job under the circumstances,” added Blackwell, who co-hosts Nova’s Kate, Tim and Joel driving show. (Pictured left with his radio co-hosts Kate Ritchie and Joel Creasey)

Blackwell then hit out at Guardian music journalist Nathan Jolly, who attended the festival and wrote an op-ed comparing the stage to a “war hospital”.

“Bloody, muddy, shocked people sitting silently staring a thousand yards away, shaking their heads every once in a while,” Jolly wrote.

A disgusted Blackwell replied: “‘Like a war hospital’. What a low blow for a festival which has provided good times and has had the interests of music lovers at heart for 20 years. Well done, Nath.

Blackwell then brushed off Guardian music journalist Nathan Jolly, who attended the festival and wrote an op-ed comparing the stage to a

Blackwell then brushed off Guardian music journalist Nathan Jolly, who attended the festival and wrote an op-ed comparing the stage to a “war hospital”.

A disgusted Blackwell replied: '

A disgusted Blackwell replied: “‘Like a war hospital.’

The first Splendor in the Grass in three years was marred by dire weather conditions, numerous cancellations and allegations of incompetence from patrons.

Friday’s opening day was canceled after heavy rain saw organizers close campgrounds due to large parts being submerged.

Partygoers had to wait until 6 p.m., some sleeping in their cars – only to turn around.

Splendor in the Grass revelers were forced to wait until 6am to get a bus out of the festival site on Sunday morning

The second day rolled around, but management didn’t seem ready for the number of people leaving in droves after the final act.

Guests were made to wait until 6 a.m. for a bus, with people claiming to have seen people falling ill with little or no support from staff.

A series of creeping apologies from organizers sparked anger and disgust from those in attendance who say they staged a calamitous festival despite three years of planning.

Frustrated customers have complained on social media after waiting up to six a.m. for a bus to pick them up, with some still stuck in the grounds at 6 a.m.

Frustrated customers have complained on social media after waiting up to six a.m. for a bus to pick them up, with some still stuck in the grounds at 6 a.m.

In a statement on Sunday evening, organizers said they had brought “toilets and water” as “additional measures” while customers waited for their buses home.

“We know the trip home last night was s**ty for some of you. It usually takes a while to get everyone out of the room, we are so sorry you had this experience at Splendor,’ the statement read.

“While that doesn’t excuse the delay, the fact is that some of the buses we ordered didn’t turn up and that had a significant impact.

“We know the trip home last night was s**ty for some of you.  It usually takes a while to get everyone out of the room, we are so sorry you had this experience at Splendor,' the statement said on Sunday.

“We know the trip home last night was s**ty for some of you. It usually takes a while to get everyone out of the room, we are so sorry you had this experience at Splendor,’ the statement said on Sunday.

“We spent the day on the phone to find as many additional transportation options as possible. There will likely still be wait times this evening, but we will have additional measures in place to help you, including toilets and water.

“We are doing our best to get you all home safely and as quickly as possible.”

Those in attendance believe Splendor, once Australia’s best-loved festival, has done irreparable damage to its reputation.

Those in attendance believe Splendor, once Australia's best-loved festival, has done irreparable damage to its reputation

Those in attendance believe Splendor, once Australia’s best-loved festival, has done irreparable damage to its reputation

Share.

Comments are closed.